NAAC-Accredited 'A' - Grade 2(f) & 12(B) status (UGC) |ISO
9001:2015 Certified | FIST Funded (DST) SIRO(DSIR)

Six students belonging to the third year Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) branch of the Sona College of Technology have developed two apps for the Salem Division of the Southern Railways.

Sahayatha, an app for registering employees’ grievances and redressing them and Gruha Mithra, an app for registering complaints from those residing at railway staff quarters, were launched by Southern Railway General Manager John Thomas on February 3, 2021, at the Pugalur Railway Station near Trichy.

Currently, the Salem Railway Division has manual systems for registering employees’ grievances and complaints received from staff quarters.

Sahayatha enables the employee to upload details of his grievances online which is then picked up by the immediate superior. The superior then redirects the complaint to the appropriate official for redressal.

Besides saving time, the app helps keep track of the status of the employee’s grievance.

The officials can get department/category wise reports on grievances and their status.
Gruha Mithra helps residents lodge maintenance issue complaints like leaking pipes or electrical wiring issues. The complaint is picked up by officials at the supervisory level and then sent up for approval and then redirected to the concerned department for action. Gruha Mithra also has a feedback facility.

According to Dr. B Sathiyabhama, Head of the Department, CSE, the two apps were developed by the students as a consultancy project. Students are encouraged to take up real-time consultancy projects voluntarily so as to expose them to real-life challenges in designing, developing, and executing projects. This provides them an opportunity for practical application of knowledge, she said.

Chairman C. Valliappa, Principal S.R.R Senthil Kumar, Directors, Heads of Departments and faculty members of Sona College of Technology congratulated the students Senthil Sivaraman S, Shreinik Jain U, Ragul P, Muralikrishnan P, Abishek M, Prasanna N.R and the faculty team of the CSE Department comprising of Dr. B. Sathiyabhama, Dr. A.C.Kaladevi, Dr. S. Sakthivel, Dr. V.Nandini, Dr.R.C.Narayanan, Dr.A.Prithiviraj, Dr. K.C. Rajeswari and Dr.S.Anitha Elavarasi for their successful launch of the two mobile apps.