International Women’s Day Celebrations 2016

Date(s) - 08/03/2016
9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Sona Auditorium


The Women Empowerment Committee of Sona College of Technology in coordination  with Women in Development committee of Thiyagarajar Polytechnic College celebrated “International Women’s day 2016” in a grand manner in Sona auditorium. The Guests of Honour for today’s celebration were Ms Shylaja Chetlur, Media Artist & Film maker and Dr.G.Rubalakshmi,Ph.D, MD,GRD  Bio-Clinical Research, Namakkal .

Madam Chairman Smt. Seetha Valliappa , Vice Chairman Sri.Thyagu Valliappa , Principal Dr.V.Jayaprakash, Madam Principal K.S.Seethalakshmi, all  HOD’s of various departments , faculty members and girl students enthusiastically attended the celebration.

Our Madam Chairman Smt. Seetha Valliappa delivered the Presidential Address and our Vice chaiRman Sri. Thyagu Valliappa gave the special address about the achievement of Women and suggested to rename the “Women’s day” as Lady day as there is no men in “Lady Day”.

Dr.G.Rubalakshmi gave a motivating and inspiring speech to the students regarding the development of entrepreneurship and about the bio recyclable products that are introduced in her company. She also spoke about her research work for curing cancer. She gave an enlightening speech about the various opportunities in the R & D field and advised the students to play a responsible role in developing the society and nation.

International Women's Day Celebrations 2016

Ms.Shylaja Chetlur kindled the brains of the students through her speech. She discussed the various opportunities in film industry. She gave an inspiring speech about “How to look cinema and the roles played by the artists.” She asked the students to look into the roles and characters of each actress and grasp the positive points from their roles. She quoted many actresses and their character roles and highlighted the lessons we have to learn from the characters like Jothika in 36 Vayathinilae, Sridevi in English Vinglish,etc

The elite alumnus of Sona College of Technology, Ms.Nirmala Gnanamani, who has recently registered an IT based Company in South Africa and the elite alumni of Thiyagarajar Polytechnic college Mrs. Vijaya, Divisional Engineer, Highway Investigation Divisioin, Coimbatore, and Mrs Chitra, Asst Executive Engineer, TANGEDCO /TNEB Ltd, Mettur Thermal Power Station II, were honoured by the Guests of Honour.

Then, the prize winners of various competitions were honored with certificates and medals and the programme came to the end by 1:00 pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *